Hi. My name is Adam.

Review: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. 2.5 out of 5

Posted in Juno, Kat Dennings, mediocre, Michael Cera, movie, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, Review by adambsullivan on October 4, 2008

Having read positive reviews about the movie, I was pretty optimistic. However, this movie fails to live up to the “cute” or “goofy” tags that many have placed on it.

Based on a novel by Rachel Cohn, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Adventure details the adventures of two high school seniors and their band of friends during a night in New York.
The movie steals its title font and lead actor from last year’s hit Juno. Michael Cera plays a likable, relatable character. Unfortunately, it’s the same character he plays in Juno and Suberbad. In any intimate scenes, all I could think about was “why is Bleaker cheating on Juno?”
The movie has several cute moments. I certainly aww-ed or laughed aloud a few times. And several running jokes throughout the movie lead to pretty solid viewer engagement.
But I didn’t like the movie as a whole ; ultimately, I didn’t feel like Nick and Norah should have ended up together. Because I like Cera’s character so much, I couldn’t help but feel like he was a friend who was about to enter into a relationship with a slut (Norah has had a shady “friend with benefits” for three years).
Oh, and during one of the later scenes, we can hear sex sounds coming from Norah, only to find that Nick was fingering her. They didn’t even fuck! He fingered her; what is this? Eighth grade?
I give this film 2.5 stars out of five. I’ll probably watch it again when the DVD is released, but I won’t hurry to Wal-Mart on the release date to buy it for my girlfriend like I did with Juno.
http://www.absullivan.blogspot.com
Leave a Reply

